Latest News

Throwback Thursday: Golden Boot winners of yesteryear

Vodacom Soccer pays tribute on this Throwback Thursday to the strikers who have graced the PSL top goal-scorer's list over the past 22 years.

- Show us your sharp-shooting skills with our Throwback Thursday Suprt Triva quiz – click on 'Games' on the menu above, or dial *117*177*5# to try win a share of R1000 airtime! T&Cs apply -

Legendary Zimbabwean marksman Wilfred Mugeyi set the tone right from the start when he banged in 22 goals for Bush Bucks in 1996/97, in what was the very first season of the PSL. Bucks finished fourth that season, with Manning Rangers under Gordon Igesund claiming the league title.

In the 20 seasons since, Mugeyi's goal haul has only once been bettered – when a young Collins Mbesuma sensationally blitzed 25 league goals for Kaizer Chiefs in the 2005/ 05 campaign.

Mbesuma, one of four Zambians to win the PSL Golden Boot, is the only player to have twice won the accolade, the second occassion coming 11 seasons after the first after he top scored in the league with 14 goals for Mpumalamga Black Aces in the 2015/16 campaign.

Apart from Mbesuma and Mugeyi (one of three Zimbabweans to win the award), only two other marksmen have hit the magical 20-goal mark. Pollen ‘Trompies’ Ndlanya did it for Kaizer Chiefs in the 1998/99 season, netting 21 goals, while Siyabonga Nomvethe notched 20 goals for Moroka Swallows in the 2011/12 season, when the Birds narrowly lost the league title to Orlando Pirates.

Nomvethe is one of four Swallows strikers to win the award, the others being Mame Niang, the only player from outside Southern Africa to scoop the prize, James Chamanga and Katlego Mashego.

Chiefs have also had four strikers winning the Golden Boot (Mbesuma, Ndlanya, Knowledge Musona and Bernard Parker), while the now defunct Manning Rangers saw their strikers winning three of the first six awards (Keryn Jordan, Ishmael Maluleke and Golbert Mushanagazhike).

An Orlando Pirates striker has twice won the Golden Boot – Denis Lota in the 1999/ 2000 campaign, followed by Lesley Manyathela three years later.

Top goal scorers since the PSL inception in 1996:

1996–97: Wilfred Mugeyi - 22 goals (Bush Bucks)
1997–98: Keryn Jordan - 11 (Manning Rangers)
1998–99: Pollen Ndlanya - 21 - (Kaizer Chiefs)
1999–00: Dennis Lota -18 (Orlando Pirates)
2000–01: Gilbert Mushangazhike - 19 (Manning Rangers)
2001–02: Ishmael Maluleke - 18 (Manning Rangers)
2002–03: Lesley Manyathela -18 (Orlando Pirates)
2003–04: Jackie Ledwaba - 14 (Zulu Royals)
2004–05: Collins Mbesuma - 25 (Kaizer Chiefs)
2005–06: Mame Niang - 14 (Moroka Swallows)
2006–07: Chris Katongo - 15 (Jomo Cosmos)
2007–08: James Chamanga - 14 (Moroka Swallows)
2008–09: Richard Henyekane - 19 (Golden Arrows)
2009–10: Katlego Mphela 17 - (Mamelodi Sundowns)
2010–11: Knowledge Musona - 15 (Kaizer Chiefs)
2011–12: Siyabonga Nomvethe - 20 (Moroka Swallows)
2012–13: Katlego Mashego - 13 (Moroka Swallows)
2013-14: Bernard Parker - 10 (Kaizer Chiefs)
2014–15: Moeketsi Sekola - 14 (Free State Stars)
2015–16: Collins Mbesuma - 14 (Mpumalanga Black Aces)
2016–17: Lebogang Manyama - 13 (Cape Town City)